Apply: 2015 Tech Awards

\"blog_techawards2014_660x360\"The Tech Awards honors individuals, non-profit organizations, and for-profit companies who are using technology to significantly improve human conditions in the categories of environment, education, health and economic development. There is also a category for young innovators. The technology used can be either a new invention or an innovative use of an existing technology.

The following criteria must be met to be an eligible applicant for the Tech Awards:

  • The project addresses a problem that is well-defined and globally significant and uses innovative technology in one of five categories: Environment, Education, Young Innovator* (born in 1988 or later) Health, or Economic Development.
  • The technology and application are ground-breaking and stand out from existing solutions
  • The innovation is being used in the field and is measurably impactful.
  • The organization\’s annual budget must be less than US$50 million.
  • The technology application is in the field and has demonstrated a measurable benefit.
  • Applications must be submitted online in English, with two letters of reference. The eligibility form for The Tech Awards 2015 will be available Nov. 1, 2014.


Intel Environment Award

Although technological innovation has sometimes been at odds with sound environmental practices, technology can contribute to clean water, improved air quality, and sustainable development. This category includes the challenges of balancing population growth with available resources, protecting animal and plant life, as well as addressing the escalating demands for safe and efficient energy.

Microsoft Education Award

Barriers to educational opportunities arise from social and economic injustices, learning disabilities, geographic isolation, and lack of resources of all types. Used creatively, technology can enhance the education of people of all ages, by enabling learning and improving the effectiveness of teaching. Technology has the promise of making lifelong learning a reality for more and more people around the world.

Katherine M. Swanson Young Innovator Award

This category recognizes the inspirational work of young people (under the age of 27 as of December 31) who are using technology to confront the world’s most vexing problems. The Young Innovator Award is intentionally broad in scope as it spans all the other categories of The Tech Awards: environment, education, health, and economic development. Additionally, it embraces the UNDP Millennium Development Goals for 2015: eradicate extreme poverty and hunger; achieve universal primary education; promote gender equality and empower women; reduce child mortality; improve maternal health; combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases; ensure environmental sustainability; and develop a global partnership for development. For this category, judges will assign more importance to innovation than proven impact.

Nokia Health Award

Technology is in the process of revolutionizing health care, from improving the quality of life for those with disabilities to eradicating deadly diseases. Biotechnology discoveries, enhanced imaging, and incredible new surgical procedures are some of the fields of endeavor. Technology can help feed the world\’s populations, alleviate suffering, and find cures for life-threatening ailments.

Flextronics Economic Development Award

The potential of technology to create jobs and provide people with livelihoods seems limitless. From developments in the most advanced technological fields to streamlining agricultural processes, human ingenuity continues to break new ground. Technology can create markets, help bring goods to market, or deliver the marketplace to people, ultimately helping to reduce the gap between rich and poor.


DEADLINE: April 28, 2015

Apply here: 2015 Tech Award 




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *